Thursday, March 12, 2015

Nebraska Hall of Agriculture Achievement

We attended the annual Banquet of the Nebraska Hall of Agricultural Achievement this evening at the East Campus Union of UN-L where former USDA Secretary of Agriculture, US Senator and Nebraska Governor, Michael Johanns was honored.  He is shown here at the podium with former State Senator Roger Wehrbein who served as MC. “Mike” as many of us knew him, paid tribute to his parents and commented that what he learned on that Iowa farm as a youngster, helped him throughout his career. Ronnie Green NU Vice President/IANR Vice Chancellor introduced Mike with a detailed record of his outstanding career. There were also 10 new members inducted into the “Hall”. It maintains a membership of over 200 and dates back nearly 100years. It is the tradition to Honor one or two of its members annually. Elaine’s brother Dr. Albert Dale Flowerday was so honored in 2009. I was inducted into the Hall about 20 years ago. The Objectives of the Hall are: “To gather and compile the history of achievements in agriculture in the territory and State of Nebraska. To preserve and exhibit the records of these achievements and the portraits of the men and women who achieved them in a permanent hall”.

No comments:

Post a Comment