Saturday, April 2, 2011

We attended the Nebraska Hall of Agricultural Achievement annual Dinner last night at the UN-L East Campus Union. Richard Hahn (pictured with me) and Dr. Terry Klopfenstein were the 2011 Honorees. Richard was on the Natural Resources Commission when we came back from D.C. ,and I went to work for the agency. He retired as President of the Farmers National Company. Doug Brand is shown in the new inductees receiving line in the other picture along with Stan Garbacz, Assistant Director of the Nebraska Department of Agriculture. Doug is from Seward and the first individual inducted into the Hall since I was some 15 years ago. The 8 new inductees maintain the membership in the rather stable 200 range. Albert Ebers was a Seward County member as is Loyd Young. Inductees are selected by nominations from members, a review committee and vote of the membership. The Honorees are selected by a committee each year from among the membership. Brother-in-law, Dr. Dale Flowerday was an Honoree in 2009. Being a member is a great honor and I appreciate being included. The Annual Dinner is an enjoyable evening and opportunity to visit with old friends.  

No comments:

Post a Comment